To be a department of high repute with regard to research, application and transmission of knowledge in social sciences to promote social development.

PDF version




Prof. Enos Njeru


Principal College of Humanities and Social Sciences UoN


Prof. Preston Chitere


Dean Faculty of Arts UoN


Prof. Judith Mbula Bahemuka


Chancellor of Eldoret University, Holder UNESCO/UNITWIN CHAIR.  Has also  been Kenya’s Representative to the UN and High Commissioner to Canada.


Dr. Agnes Zani


Nominated Senator

Colonel Cyrus Oguna

The current Kenya Defence Forces spokesman and the head of Public Affairs department at the defence headquarter . He completed his  BA degree from the UoN, and is pursuing a Master’s Degree also at the UoN.




David M. Kimaiyo


Inspector General of Police



Dr Philista Onyango

Regional Director of the African Network for the Prevention and Protection against Child Abuse and Neglect (ANPPCAN), is the recipient of the African Hero Award in the year 2010



John Mutua Katuku

Former Member of Parliament for Mwala Constituency and former Minister for water and Irrigation.



Dr. Wangoi Njau


Programme Technical Adviser, UNFPA  East and Southern Africa Regional Office (ESARO)



James Mathenge


Member of Parliament for Kieni Constituency

Prof. Calvin Odhiambo


Assistant Professor of Sociology

Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice and Women Studies

University of South Carolina, Upstate

Prof. Samuel Kariuki


Associate Professor - Department of Sociology

School of Social Sciences

University of the Witwatersrand

Dr. Jamin Masinde


Head of Department

Department of Sociology and Psychology

Moi Uinversity

Mr. Ezekiel M. Mwenzwa


Acting Head of Department,

Department of Social Sciences,

Karatina University

Mr. Wa-Mwachai M. A. Mohamed

former PS Ministry of Forestry and Wildlife



Prominent Alumni of the Department